Photo of Quasar

Quasar

Saxophone quartet

Prochain(s) concert(s)

I am not a Robot II

/ Amphitheatre | Gesù

Prochain(s) concert(s)

I am not a Robot II

/ Amphitheatre | Gesù

Known for their energy and bold innovation, the four members of Quasar have been exploring the innumerable facets of musical creation since the group's founding in 1994. The group's ventures include instrumental music, improvisation, and electronics. Alone or accompanied by a symphony orchestra, acoustic or plugged, Quasar offers its audience a unique and deeply original programming.The ensemble has been awarded 8 OPUS prizes by the Conseil québécois de la musique, including the "Artist of the Year" prize.

Quasar presents a series of concerts in Montreal while performing extensively across Canada, Mexico, the United States and Europe. It has been invited by international festivals such as : Busan Maru (Korea), Ars Musica (Brussels), SALT Festival (Victoria), Tonlagen (Dresden).

A real driving force of creative music, the quartet works closely with composers favouring research, experimentation and the emergence of new ideas.

Quasar's aims are to contribute to the enrichment of our musical heritage and to provide a platform for new music experimentation, exploration and production. The quartet has proudly commissioned over 150 works over the course of its twenty-five years of activity.  During that time, it has performed as a solo group with, among others, the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra and the Hanzhou Philharmonic Orchestra.

In addition to being very involved in the creation of new works, Quasar also presents a very diversified repertoire ranging from classical music to jazz, allowing the group to fully demonstrate the saxophone's multiple facets. These concerts provide a stimulating and most interesting way of reaching out to the public.

Quasar is a member of Le Vivier, a group of ensembles and organizations working in new music, with the goal of establishing a venue for creation, exchange and training in the heart of Montreal.

General and Artistic Director / Soprano saxophone
Director of Operations / Barytone saxophone
Administrative director / Alto saxophone
Tenor saxophone

Multimedias and news

Meet Quasar
Quasar/Mix-Remix

In the press

"un long moment de virtuosité époustouflante où Quasar fut renversant de justesse, comme de punch; tous les effets spectaculairement en place allaient droit au but; les ostinatos comme les unissons sidéraient par leur perfection technique"

- François Tousignant, La Presse, 26 novembre 2005

"[…] ces musiciens sont des poètes autant que des virtuoses de leurs instruments."

- Claude Gingras, La Presse, 21 février 2009.

“Montreal’s Quasar Sax Quartet is a magnificent ensemble. What you get here is what you hear: technical mastery and love of the music. Itself uncompromising, no frills, no gimmicks.”

- See Magazine (Edmonton), 9 juin 2010.

Photo de Quasar
Crédit
Marie Lassiat, 2019

Quasar

Quatuor de saxophones

Prochain(s) concert(s)

Je ne suis pas un robot II

/ Amphithéâtre | Gesù

Prochain(s) concert(s)

Je ne suis pas un robot II

/ Amphithéâtre | Gesù

Passionné par la musique de son temps, le quatuor de saxophones Quasar se consacre à la création et à la promotion de la musique contemporaine. Musique instrumentale, improvisation, électronique, il est de toutes les aventures. Seul ou accompagné d'un orchestre symphonique, acoustique ou branché, Quasar offre au public une programmation unique et profondément originale. L’ensemble est lauréat de 8 prix Opus décernés par le Conseil québécois de la musique, dont celui d’« Interprète de l’année ». Quasar présente une série de concerts à Montréal et se produit régulièrement en tournée sur la scène nationale et internationale.

Depuis sa fondation en 1994, Quasar a créé plus d’une 150 d’œuvres. Véritable moteur de la création, le quatuor collabore étroitement avec les compositeurs favorisant la recherche, l’expérimentation et l’éclosion d’idées nouvelles.  L’ensemble contribue ainsi d’une manière exceptionnelle à l’essor de la musique québécoise et compte également à son actif plusieurs créations d’œuvres étrangères.

Le quatuor s’est produit à travers tout le Canada, aux États-Unis, au Mexique, en Asie ainsi que dans une dizaine de pays d’Europe. Il a été l’invité de prestigieux festivals tels Ars Musica (Bruxelles), Tonlagen (Dresden), SALT (Victoria), Busan Maru Festival (Corée).
Quasar s’est également illustré à titre de soliste avec les orchestres symphoniques de Montréal, Longueuil et Winnipeg ainsi qu’avec le Hangzhou Philharmonic Orchestra. Le quatuor a également suscité de nombreux projets de collaboration avec d’autres ensembles tels Totem Contemporain, l’Ensemble de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec, Sixtrum, le quatuor Arte (Suisse).

Quasar est membre du groupe Le Vivier, un regroupement d’ensembles et organismes qui œuvre dans le secteur des musiques nouvelles et qui s’est donné comme objectif premier, d’établir un lieu de diffusion, de création, d’échange et de formation au cœur de Montréal.

Directrice générale et artistique / Saxophone soprano
Directeur des opérations / Saxophone baryton
Directeur administratif / Saxophone alto
Saxophone ténor

Multimédias et actualités

Rencontrez le quatuor Quasar
Quasar/Mix-Remix

Dans la presse

"un long moment de virtuosité époustouflante où Quasar fut renversant de justesse, comme de punch; tous les effets spectaculairement en place allaient droit au but; les ostinatos comme les unissons sidéraient par leur perfection technique"

- François Tousignant, La Presse, 26 novembre 2005

"[…] ces musiciens sont des poètes autant que des virtuoses de leurs instruments."

- Claude Gingras, La Presse, 21 février 2009.

“Montreal’s Quasar Sax Quartet is a magnificent ensemble. What you get here is what you hear: technical mastery and love of the music. Itself uncompromising, no frills, no gimmicks.”

- See Magazine (Edmonton), 9 juin 2010.