Todos A Cubierta

Program notes

"All hands on deck" the captain cries when his ship is sinking. Everything seems to play against the captain, as the ship won’t stop sinking despite the best efforts of the captain and the crew. The ocean is a remarkable and relentless beast, the ship is old, and you are tired. You are the captain, and you need to sink with your ship.

¡Todos a Cubierta! depicts scenes of a ship sinking in the middle of the ocean from the point of view of the captain, who is represented by the baritone sax, the rest of the quartet represents the waves, the ocean, the ship and the crew, in different moments of the piece. The baritone sax tries to battle the rhythms, textures and techniques proposed by the rest of the quartet. Slowly but surely, the baritone sax becomes tired and starts aligning with the music surrounding it, facing the truth, he is losing the battle.

This piece was composed as part of a workshop in Morelia, México. Inside Centro Mexicano para la Música y las Artes Sonoras and Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, as part of its program of Music and Artistic Technology. This workshop was given by the Quasar Quartet in 2017. Today, four years after being composed, this piece is reprised by the same quartet it was composed for. ¡Todos a Cubierta! is dedicated to the Quasar Quartet, and the composer gives thanks and appreciation for this performance.

Composer

Instrumentation

saxophone quartet

Performances

Season Date Concert Member(s)
2020-21 Longues distances (webcast) Quasar

Todos A Cubierta

Notes de programme

« Toutes les mains sur le pont », hurle le capitaine quand le bateau coule. Tout semble se jouer contre le capitaine, alors que son navire ne cesse de prendre l’eau malgré ses meilleurs efforts et ceux de son équipage. L’océan est une bête remarquable et sans pitié, le bateau est vieux et vous êtes fatigué. Vous êtes le capitaine, vous devez couler avec votre navire.

¡Todos a Cubierta! incarne des scènes d’un navire coulant au milieu de l’océan du point de vue du capitaine, représenté par le saxophone baryton, le reste du quatuor incarnant les vagues, l’océan, le navire et l’équipage à différents moments de la pièce. Le saxophone baryton tente de combattre le rythme, les textures et les techniques proposés par le reste de l’ensemble. Lentement mais sûrement, le saxophone baryton se fatigue et commence à s’aligner avec la musique qui l’entoure, faisant face à la vérité : il perd son combat.

Cette œuvre a été composée lors d’un atelier à Morelia, au Mexique, au cœur du Centro Mexicano para la Música y las Artes Sonoras et de l’Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, dans le cadre de leur programme Musique et technologie artistique. Cet atelier a été donné par le quatuor de saxophones Quasar en 2017. Aujourd’hui, soit quatre ans après la composition, la pièce est reprise par le même quatuor que celui pour lequel elle a été écrite. ¡Todos a Cubierta! est dédiée à Quasar, et Homero Salazar les remercie chaleureusement pour cette performance.

Compositeur

Instrumentation

quatuor de saxophones

Représentations

Saison Date Concert Membre(s)
2020-21 Longues distances (En salle et en Webdiffusion Quasar