Cartel 2016 / Welcome Messages / A Message from: Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

An innovative and productive platform, Cartel stems from an exceptional international collaboration between the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival in Great Britain, the SNYK (Danish Centre for Contemporary, Experimental Music and Sound Art) and the Roy and Edna Disney/CalArts Theater (REDCAT) in Los Angeles.

Numerous artistic directors of festivals, presenters and programmers specializing in contemporary music will converge on Montréal, searching for the finest concerts and artists to include in their upcoming programs. This conference will strengthen the international exchange network, and stimulate the circulation of musical works and performers both here and abroad. There is no doubt that at the end of the event, creative projects will be launched, leading to tours, residencies and co-production initiatives.

The Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec is pleased to support Cartel, a rendez-vous for contemporary music enthusiasts that will help make Montréal a focal point for current artistic creation. I wish all participants an enriching and stimulating week.

Anne-Marie Jean
President and CEO
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

Cartel 2016 / Mots de bienvenue / Un message du: Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

Plate-forme novatrice et porteuse, Cartel est le fruit d’une collaboration internationale exceptionnelle entre le Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival au Royaume-Uni, le SNYK (Centre national du Danemark pour la musique contemporaine, la musique expérimentale et l’art sonore) et The Roy and Edna Disney/CalArts Theater (REDCAT) à Los Angeles.

De nombreux directeurs artistiques de festivals et de diffuseurs, ainsi que des programmateurs spécialisés en musique contemporaine, convergeront à Montréal en quête des meilleurs concerts et talents à inscrire dans leurs futures programmations. Ce rendez-vous renforcera le réseau international d’échanges et stimulera la circulation des œuvres musicales et des interprètes ici comme ailleurs. Nul doute qu’au terme de cet événement, des projets de création menant à des tournées, des résidences ou des initiatives de coproductions verront le jour.

Le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec est heureux de soutenir l’événement Cartel, un rendez-vous entre passionnés de musique contemporaine qui contribuera à positionner Montréal comme centre névralgique de la création actuelle. Je souhaite à tous les participants une semaine enrichissante et stimulante,

Anne-Marie Jean
Présidente-directrice générale
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec