Cartel 2016 / Welcome Messages / A Message from: British Council

Building on strong relationships: for its second edition in Montréal, British Council applauds New Music Cartel

As a leading cultural relations organisation, British Council strongly values and develops partnerships, bridging gaps between people through a friendly exchange of knowledge and ideas. We believe in building strong relationships in order to achieve social innovation, creativity and prosperous communities. This is why we are so pleased to be partnered with New Music Cartel for its second edition in Montréal.

Our work in Canada includes developing and nurturing strong connections between communities in Canada with the United Kingdom through programmes and services in the Arts, Education, Society and the English language. Through the Arts, we strive to find new and creative ways of tailoring programmes that are mutually beneficial and help in understanding each other, in order to develop stronger creative sectors. Our work promotes a cultural dialogue which explores the arts potential as a transformative power in our societies, and as a vehicle for knowledge for current and future generations.

For a second edition of New Music Cartel, British Council is proud to be partnered with key international organizations such as Le Vivier (Montréal), Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (Huddersfield), SNYK, the Danish centre for contemporary, experimental music and sound art (Copenhagen) and REDCAT (Los Angeles) to nurture a valuable network of leaders in the arts, who will share their expertise and insight that will strengthen the global music community, its artists and its ecosystems.

I would like to congratulate the organizers of this event and also take this opportunity to give a warm welcome to the Canadian and international industry professionals who will attend New Music Cartel to advance a vibrant music sector.

— Mariya Afzal
Country Director
British Council Canada

Cartel 2016 / Mots de bienvenue / Un message du: British Council

Bâtir sur des relations solides: le British Council applaudit la deuxième édition de New Music Cartel à Montréal

En tant qu’organisme de premier plan voué aux relations culturelles, le British Council privilégie des partenariats qui, par le biais d’échanges d’idées, enrichissent nos communautés par l’innovation sociale et la créativité. C’est pourquoi nous sommes ravis de nous associer au New Music Cartel dans le cadre de sa deuxième édition à Montréal.

Au Canada, nous œuvrons à créer des liens entre des communautés canadiennes et le Royaume-Uni au moyen de divers programmes et services offerts dans le domaine des arts, de l’éducation, au plan social et par l’apprentissage de la langue anglaise. Afin de soutenir le développement de secteurs artistiques plus forts, nous élaborons, de façon novatrice, des programmes mutuellement avantageux pour les deux pays. Notre travail en arts vise à promouvoir un dialogue culturel qui explore l’effet transformateur de l’art sur nos sociétés, et qui reconnaît la création artistique comme véhicule de connaissances pour les générations présentes et futures.

Pour cette deuxième édition de New Music Cartel, le British Council est fier de s’associer à des organismes internationaux clés, tel que Le Vivier (Montréal), Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (Huddersfield), SNYK — the Danish centre for contemporary, experimental music and sound art (Copenhague), et REDCAT (Los Angeles) afin de nourrir un précieux réseau de leaders qui, en partageant leurs expertises, renforcent la communauté musicale mondiale, ses artistes, et ses écosystèmes.

J’aimerais féliciter les organisateurs de cet évènement et également profiter de cette occasion pour souhaiter la bienvenue à tous les professionnels de l’industrie canadienne et internationale qui participeront au New Music Cartel afin de contribuer à faire avancer un secteur musical dynamique.

— Mariya Afzal
Directrice
British Council Canada