Cartel 2018 / Introduction

Cartel is a Montréal-based conference for new music curators, organized by Groupe Le Vivier, carrefour des musiques nouvelles in Montréal in collaboration with the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival and the executive committee members:

  • Pierrette Gingras, Le Vivier, Montréal, Canada
  • Graham McKenzie, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Huddersfield, UK
  • Kate Nordstrum, Liquid Music, Saint Paul, USA
  • David Pay, Music on Main, Vancouver, Canada
  • Lauren Pratt, California Institut of the art, REDCAT Theatre, Valencia, USA
  • Thørbjørn Thonder Henson, Ultima Festival, Oslo, Norway

A continuation of the CartelMTL meeting organized in Montréal in June 2014, of the Trans-Atlantic festival network conferences organized in Copenhagen in September 2015, and Cartel 2016 in Montréal, this Cartel fourth edition will focus on ways to develop collaboration between contemporary music presenters in Europe and North America.

Cartel 2018 will take place between May 16th and 20th 2018, during the Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville (FIMAV). Besides attending meetings, participants will be able to attend an exciting array of concerts presented by the FIMAV and Le Vivier.

Cartel 2018 / Présentation

Cartel est une conférence internationale pour les diffuseurs et directeurs artistiques spécialisés en musiques nouvelles, organisée par Groupe Le Vivier, carrefour des musiques nouvelles, en collaboration avec le Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival et les membres du comité exécutif:

  • Pierrette Gingras, Le Vivier, Montréal, Canada
  • Graham McKenzie, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Huddersfield, Royaume-Uni
  • Kate Nordstrum, Liquid Music, Saint Paul, États-Unis
  • David Pay, Music on Main, Vancouver, Canada
  • Lauren Pratt, California Institut of the art, REDCAT Theatre, Valencia, États-Unis
  • Thørbjørn Thonder Henson, Ultima Festival, Oslo, Norvège

En continuité avec CartelMTL, organisée à Montréal en 2014, avec la conférence de réseautage organisée à Copenhague en septembre 2015, puis avec Cartel 2016 à Montréal, Cartel 2018 est axée sur le développement de la collaboration entre diffuseurs de musique nouvelle d’Europe et d’Amérique.

La quatrième édition de Cartel a lieu du 16 au 20 mai 2018 dans le cadre du festival de musique actuelle de Victoriaville (FIMAV). En plus de participer à des rencontres formelles, les participants ont la chance d’assister à une saisissante sélection de concerts présentée par le FIMAV et Le Vivier.