Torso (2020)

Program notes

Torso is a piece that raises many questions. First of all it is based on material from Charles Ives „the unanswered question“, which I used to come up with the main gestural material of the piece. However it is not necessarily a piece about the Ives example, but rather about the same musical question. The piece makes use of an alternative temporal notation, that goes away from a euclidian space towards a space which is more fluid without and underlying tempo and beat structure. 

The temporal exposition of the piece is derived from the physical constitution of each player. Those conditions can be linked to each player, so that a web of relationships start to occur with an overarching hierarchy, as well as chaotic states, where now relationships occur. 

The composition of the piece is not chaotic at all, even quite the opposite. It is highly structured, where structural thoughts create dissonance between the notational ideal of the music and real sounding synthesis of the problems that occur. 

I see Torso as incidental music, that has a unique dramaturgy that is never centered in the piece but rather something, that almost sounds accidental. This was important to me to start working with quite dramatic material without falling back into a neo-romantic language.

– Philipp Henkel

Composer

Year of composition

(2020)

Instrumentation

quatuor de saxophones

Performances

Season Date Concert Member(s)
2020-21 Longues distances (webcast) Quasar

Torso (2020)

Notes de programme

Torso est une œuvre qui soulève plusieurs questions. Premièrement, elle s’inspire du matériel de Charles Ives « the unanswered question », que j’ai utilisé pour créer le principal geste matériel de la pièce. Toutefois, Torso n’est pas nécessairement une œuvre à propos de l’exemple de Ives, mais bien à propos de la même question musicale. La pièce utilise une notation temporelle alternative, qui s’éloigne de l’espace euclidien vers un espace plus fluide, sans tempo sous-jacent ou rythme structuré.

L’exposition temporelle de l’œuvre est dérivée de la constitution physique de chaque interprète. Ces conditions sont liées aux interprètes, faisant en sorte que la toile relationnelle commence à se produire avec une hiérarchie primordiale, ainsi qu’avec des états chaotiques, où les relations se produisent désormais.

La composition de la pièce n’est pas chaotique, au contraire. Elle est hautement structurée, où des pensées structurantes créées des dissonances entre l’idéal de notation de la musique et la réelle sonorité synthétisée du problème qui se produit.

Je vois Torso comme une musique fortuite, qui possède une dramaturgie unique qui n’est jamais au cœur de la pièce, mais qui semble plutôt accidentelle. Il m’était important de commencer à travailler avec un tel matériel dramatique sans retomber dans un langage néo-romantique.

– Philipp Henkel

Compositeur

Année de composition

(2020)

Instrumentation

quatuor de saxophones

Représentations

Saison Date Concert Membre(s)
2020-21 Longues distances (En salle et en Webdiffusion Quasar