Histoires de gestes

The history of percussion is one of gesture: the act of striking, of course, usually associated with percussion instruments, but also the acts of shaking, rubbing, scraping, plucking, caressing, massaging…

Participants

Programme

Description

With these Histoires de gestes (Stories of gestures), Sixtrum is particularly interested in composers who use gesture as a basic element of their works. Oddly, some of these works play with silent gestures, or at the the limits of silence, such as Pierre qui roule n’amasse pas paraddidles gather no moss by Quebec composer Myke Roy, premiered in 2009 by Sixtrum, that stages a “sound-mime” grappling with his musical imagination. The relationship with silence is also present in Gilles Mottet's works Oxymore and Jeux de miroir “where the listener and the player fill silence with references to their own experiences with the world of sound.”

Painting with Breath, by New Zealand composer David Downes, uses sound created by bamboos and bullroarers that cut through the air. Pièces de gestes, by Belgian Thierry de Mey, choreographs the movements of five pairs of hands playing on tables, while Strings Attached by American-Autralian composer Erik Griswold maked the players experiment with different sound gestures, for instance using strings attached to the percussion sticks. Live sound sculptures!

Finally, Mémoires de peaux by French composer Bruno Giner contrastingly uses the pure and powerfull stroke movements, almost choreographic and highly virtuoso, of six percussionists playing drums.

Related files

Percussions

Histoires de gestes

L’histoire de la percussion est une histoire de gestes: l’acte de frapper bien sûr, que l’on associe immédiatement à la percussion, mais aussi secouer, frotter, racler, pincer, caresser, malaxer…

Participants

Programme

Description

Avec ces Histoires de gestes, Sixtrum s’intéresse plus particulièrement aux compositeurs qui utilisent le geste comme élément constitutif des œuvres elles-mêmes. Curieusement, nombre d’entre elles jouent avec le geste silencieux, ou aux confins du silence: c’est le cas de Pierre qui roule n’amasse pas paraddidles gather no moss du québécois Myke Roy, créée en 2009 par Sixtrum, qui met aux prises un «mime-sonore» avec son imagination musicale. La relation au silence est aussi présente dans les pièces de Gilles Mottet Oxymore et Jeux de miroir «où l’auditeur et l’interprète investissent le silence des références issues de leurs propres expériences du monde sonore».

Painting with Breath, du néo-zélandais David Downes, utilise le son créé par des bambous et des rhombes qui fendent l’air. Pièces de gestes, du belge Thierry de Mey, chorégraphie les mouvements de cinq paires de mains jouant sur des tables, tandis que Strings Attached du compositeur américano-australien Erik Griswold amène les interprètes à expérimenter différents geste d’émission de sons, en utilisant notamment des fils tendus, attachés aux baguettes des percussionnistes. Des sculptures sonores «live»!

Enfin, Mémoires de peaux du français Bruno Giner vient en contraste utiliser la frappe pure et puissante, quasi-chorégraphique et hautement virtuose, de six percussionnistes jouant sur des instruments à peaux.

Dossiers liés

Percussion