Montréal / Nouvelles Musiques 2011 → Atlas

“On a winter night, when all is motionless and you gaze at the constellations…” Thirty musicians from every corner of Montréal’s contemporary music scene join forces for a unique performance of John Cage’s famous Atlas Eclipticalis, premiered in Montréal by the composer 50 years ago.




The piece had been commissioned by Québécois composer Pierre Mercure. Written by the American giant for 1 to 86 instruments, it is a literal transcription of the night sky’s constellations: a magnificently organized chaos giving birth to meditative ever-changing music.

30 musicians from 10 new music ensembles, all members of Le Vivier: Quatuor Bozzini, Bradyworks, Ensemble contemporain de Montréal, In Extensio, Quatuor Molinari, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Productions SuperMusique, Quasar — quatuor de saxophones, Sixtrum — ensemble à percussion, Transmission and independant musicians.

Artistic direction: Walter Boudreau (SMCQ), Marie-Chantal Leclair (Quasar), Fabrice Marandola (Sixtrum), Clemens Merkel (Quatuor Bozzini), Danielle Palardy Roger (SuperMusique).

Montréal / Nouvelles Musiques 2011Atlas

«Par une nuit d’hiver, lorsque tout est immobile et que l’on contemple les constellations…» Trente musiciens provenant de part et d’autre de la scène contemporaine montréalaise s’unissent pour présenter une interprétation unique du fameux Atlas Eclipticalis de John Cage, créé à Montréal il y a 50 ans sous la direction du compositeur lui-même.

Participants

Programme

Description

Commandée à ce monument de la musique américaine par le compositeur québécois Pierre Mercure, l’œuvre (pour 1 à 86 instruments) est une transcription littérale des constellations du ciel: un chaos magnifiquement organisé d’où naît une musique méditative en constant renouvellement.

30 musiciens issus de 10 ensembles spécialisés en musique nouvelle, membres du Vivier: Quatuor Bozzini, Bradyworks, Ensemble contemporain de Montréal, In Extensio, Quatuor Molinari, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Productions SuperMusique, Quasar — quatuor de saxophones, Sixtrum — ensemble à percussion, Transmission et des musiciens indépendants.

Direction artistique: Walter Boudreau (SMCQ), Marie-Chantal Leclair (Quasar), Fabrice Marandola (Sixtrum), Clemens Merkel (Quatuor Bozzini), Danielle Palardy Roger (SuperMusique).