Then I Knew ‘twas Wind (1992)

Program notes

And then I knew 'twas wind for flute, viola and harp was commissioned by Akira Obi for flutist Aurèle Nicolet. Takemitsu implicitly refers here to Debussy's trio for the same formation. It is known that he admired in his illustrious predecessor the innovative character of the treatment of timbre. However, he was also keen to affirm the characteristics of his own language, particularly on the formal level. For example, the melody is based on two distinct series of six notes each, from which the entire harmonic construction is based. However, even if the chromatic total is reached, Takemitsu's writing processes are far removed from the dodecaphonic system, they evoke nature (wind, rain) and dreams. The title of the work is taken from a poem by Emily Dickinson Like rain it sounded till it curved... And then I knew 'twas wind...


Year of composition



flute, viola, harp


Season Date Concert Member(s)
2020-21 Lo Spazio Ensemble Paramirabo