Introduction and Allegro (1905)

Maurice Ravel

Program notes

Composed on commission from the double-action pedal harp maker Érard1, this work is almost contemporary with Claude Debussy's Danse sacrée et Danse profane for harp and strings, written to promote the competing instrument, a new chromatic harp from the competing harp maker Pleyel. It is the Érard model that will constitute the modern harp, the one from Pleyel falling into oblivion.

The Introduction and Allegro consists of two movements, as its name suggests, but is played in one piece for about eleven minutes.


Maurice Ravel

Year of composition



harp, flute, clarinet and string quartet


Season Date Concert Member(s)
2020-21 Lo Spazio Ensemble Paramirabo