Débâcle (2016)

Alain Perron

Program notes

Débâcle was commissioned by Ensemble Sixtrum. This new composition of 11 minutes is based on a video illustrating the break-up at the Chutes de la rivière Chaudière near the town of Charny. In a single movement, the work contains three sections and consists of an immense and gradual crescendo. The first three-minute section features percussion instruments with indeterminate sounds. The second six-minute section is developed around the percussion instruments with determined sounds and coincides with the beginning of the eight-minute video that will be presented on a large screen at the back of the stage. The third and last two-minute section, using all the percussion instruments of the first two sections, will culminate in a climax at the end of the work.


Alain Perron

Year of composition



percussions and video


Season Date Concert Member(s)
2020-21 H2O day
2016-17 Sixtrum — 10 ans de création Sixtrum percussion ensemble