Cultural Calendar

January 2004

Thursday, January 1, 2004

Friday, January 2, 2004

Saturday, January 3, 2004

Sunday, January 4, 2004

Monday, January 5, 2004

Tuesday, January 6, 2004

Wednesday, January 7, 2004

Thursday, January 8, 2004

Friday, January 9, 2004

Saturday, January 10, 2004

Sunday, January 11, 2004

Monday, January 12, 2004

Tuesday, January 13, 2004

Wednesday, January 14, 2004

Thursday, January 15, 2004

  • 6:00 pm
    Arion Apéro Flauta Dolce
    Concert. The recorder, one of the most versatile of instruments, will be the guest of honour for this concert. In the capable hands of Matthias Maute and Sophie Larivière, the flauta dolce will sing with great refinement. On the menu, a programme of music ranging from the Renaissance to today, including a work composed by Matthias Maute
    Théâtre Bombardier – Musée McCord
    Arion — orchestre baroque
  • 8:30 pm
    Quatuor Bozzini: concert 2 — hiver
    Concert. Œuvres de Mackey, Snider, Bouliane
    Chapelle Saint-Louis – Église Saint-Jean-Baptiste
    Concerts M

Friday, January 16, 2004

  • 8:00 pm
    Art Déco
    Concert. The “Roaring Twenties.” Works by: Hindemith, Hass, Eisler, Nielsen
    Salle Marie-Stéphane – École Vincent-d’Indy — Outremont (Québec)
    Pentaèdre
  • 8:00 pm
    Concert Radio-Canada
    Concert. Œuvres de Mackey, Snider, Bouliane

Saturday, January 17, 2004

Sunday, January 18, 2004

Monday, January 19, 2004

Tuesday, January 20, 2004

Wednesday, January 21, 2004

Thursday, January 22, 2004

Friday, January 23, 2004

  • 8:00 pm
    Carte Blanche to Dominique Visse
    Concert. Guest conductor and soloist: Dominique Visse, countertenor
    Salle Redpath – Université McGill
    Arion — orchestre baroque

Saturday, January 24, 2004

  • 8:00 pm
    Carte Blanche to Dominique Visse
    Concert.
    Salle Redpath – Université McGill
    Arion — orchestre baroque

Sunday, January 25, 2004

  • 2:00 pm
    Carte Blanche to Dominique Visse
    Concert.
    Théâtre Paul-Desmarais – Centre canadien d’architecture
    Arion — orchestre baroque
  • 4:00 pm
    7e Gala des prix Opus
    Prix d’excellence en musique de concert
    Amphithéâtre – Le Gesù
    Conseil québécois de la musique

Monday, January 26, 2004

Tuesday, January 27, 2004

Wednesday, January 28, 2004

  • 9:00 pm
    Books on Tape + Mixel Pixel + guests
    Concert. Performances by Books on Tape (No Type, Los Angeles) & Mixel Pixel (Mental Monkey, New York). Atmosphere by tobias c van Veen (DJ) & olo j Milkman (visuals)
    Casa del Popolo
    No Type

Thursday, January 29, 2004

  • 8:00 pm
    Sortis de prison
    Concert. Works by Mark Warhol and Yves Daoust. With Nadya Blanchette, soprano; Simon Fournier, barytone; Catherine Issalys, flute; Pamela Reimer, piano
    La Sala Rossa
    Ensemble Warhol
  • 8:30 pm
    Improvisation Constantinople
    As part of Improvisation. • Concert. Around improvisation
    La Chapelle
    La Chapelle
    Société québécoise de recherche en musique

Friday, January 30, 2004

  • 8:00 pm
    Meslanges harmoniques
    Concert. Instrumental dances, fantasias, and chansons by Lejeune, Guédron, Du Caurroy, and Praetorius. 7 musicians
    Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours
    Les Boréades de Montréal
  • 8:00 pm
    Sortis de prison
    Concert. (Repeat performance of the January 29th Concert)
    La Sala Rossa
    Ensemble Warhol
  • 8:30 pm
    Improvisation Thom Gossage Other Voices
    As part of Improvisation. • Concert. Music by Thom Gossage and Rainer Wiens. Thom Gossage; Rémi Bolduc; Miles Perkins; Gary Schwartz; Frank Lozano
    La Chapelle
    Effendi
    La Chapelle
    Société québécoise de recherche en musique

Saturday, January 31, 2004

  • 8:30 pm
    Improvisation Steve Lacy Montréal Ensemble
    As part of Improvisation. • Concert. Steve Lacy; Nicolas Caloia; Jean Derome; Lori Freedman; Joe Giardullo; John Heward; Rainer Wiens; Gordon Allen
    La Chapelle
    La Chapelle
    Société québécoise de recherche en musique