Files / Percussions

Evolution and Transformation

It is surprising that it was only in the 20th Century that western composers seized upon the rich sound palette offered by percussion instruments.

Two factors seem to be in play. On one hand, it took time for these instruments to cross over frontiers and for composers to know about them. For example, it was during events like the Universal Exhibition of 1889 that Claude Debussy discovered the Balinese gamelan. On the other hand, over several centuries, composers of written music were more inclined toward instruments that produced identifiable sounds and not instruments with a more complex sonority that were less obvious for use in a tonal system.

It was thus that Hector Berlioz wrote in his treatise on orchestration, “percussion instruments are of two types; the first includes instrument with fixed, musically appreciable sound and the second are those with less musical effect that can only be placed among noises destined for special effects or rhythmic colouration.” In effect, the perfection of melodic line and polyphonic treatment had been at the heart of musical language for a long time. If one briefly considers the history of western music one can see the role of percussion gradually but considerably changing. In the Middle Ages, it principally marked the rhythm for dances; in the 17th Century it accompanied solemn music, fanfares and outdoor events. With Lully and his use of kettledrums, percussion took its place in the symphonic orchestra to punctuate and enhance the musical discourse. At the end of the 19th Century and the beginning of the 20th, the developing richness of available percussion instruments like the celeste, the glockenspiel, tam-tams, crotales and xylophones expanded the colours used by such composers as Gustav Mahler, Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel. In 1913, The Rite of Spring by Igor Stravinsky made the importance of percussion even more evident. Some years later, Darius Milhaud gave percussion a special place in his work Les Choéphores, in which three sections are written for choir, soloist and 15 percussionists.

Ionisation, written by Edgard Varèse in 1931, marks a turning point in the history of western music by being one of the first works for a percussion ensemble that does not reference any folklore. It shows percussion as a separate instrumental genre. The thirty-seven instruments, the majority with indeterminate intonation, played by 13 performers, are heard standing on their own musical value alone. Their timbres, their volume, their nature, and their resonances are highlighted by Varèse and provide extraordinary richness and variety. On the subject of percussion he said, “It must speak, it must have its own pulse, its own lifeblood.”

From then on, we see the appearance of various concertos for percussion and orchestra. Among them are those by Darius Milhaud, André Jolivet, Henri Cowel, Jonathan Harvey et alcides lanza. A work by the latter, called Sensors, is a concerto for solo percussionist and percussion ensemble in the form of a concerto grosso. 1968 marked the premiere of Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Zyklus at the Palais Garnier in Paris, one of the first pieces for solo percussion that was performed by Sylvio Gualda. This event would inspire solo percussion compositions like May by Nguen Dao and Rebonds by Iannis Zenakis. Chamber works, duos, trios and quartets were developed with highly varied instrumentation: voice and percussion in Kassandra de Xenakis; voice, harp and two percussions in Circles by Luciano Berio; two cellos and percussion in Match by Kagel; two ondes Martenot and percussion in Les nuages de Magellan by Tristan Murail; two microphones, two potentiometer filters and tam-tam in Mikrophonie 1 by Stockhausen. The latter work brings several performers together around a single large tam-tam. They play on different parts of the instrument making it vibrate using different attacks.

Works for percussion ensembles were greatly encouraged by the creation of ensembles with six percussionists like Les Percussions de Strasbourg, in France, which has more than 250 works in its repertoire. The McGill Percussion Ensemble was created on the initiative of Pierre Béluse in 1962 and there is also the more recently formed percussion ensemble Sixtrum. The McGill Percussion Ensemble was the driving force behind the creation of Sept jours by Walter Boudreau, Rythmologue by François Morel, Circuit 1 by Serge Garant, and En movement by Vincent Dionne etc.

Percussion also made new appearances in works for instrumental ensembles.

“The possibilities of percussion instruments are countless. They have been called noise makers, but me, I call them sound makers” — Edgard Varèse

Indeed, the use of percussion provokes another way of listening, of composing music that is more geared to timbre. The fact that percussion is composed principally of instruments with indeterminate pitch makes the listener focus less on the concept of notes and rhythm and more on the musical qualities in sound through its texture, colour, or changes in dynamics.

In addition, the tools available to the percussionist are not related to just a single instrument but also to a great number of accessories. Their use requires special management of gestures and the playing space of the musician. In Quatorze Stations by Marius Constant, the percussionist moves around in the middle of about a hundred instruments following a path that represents key moments leading to the crucifixion of Christ. This spatial dimension can sometimes become the foundation of the composition. In Persehassa, Xenakis places six percussionists in a circle around the public. In this layout, the sounds produce movements in space that accentuate oppositions in the “sound masses” and contrasts in texture. Philippe Leroux in De la vitesse for six percussionists starts with six musicians playing one snare drum. He then separates them little by little each from the other, playing different instruments and forming the special shape of the Pegasus Constellation. This shape stretches out gradually until the musicians find themselves in the middle of or behind the public, with some backstage and some on stage. This manner of gradually appropriating space is another way of exploiting the special potential of percussion.

The discovery of non-western percussion instruments and practice led some composers to use new sonorities and new ways of playing and mixing them into their own musical language. Paulau Dewata by Claude Vivier is an example of this influence. As he said, “I wanted to write a piece in the spirit of Bali: dance, rhythm and especially an explosion of life …but above all I did not want to write Balinese music.” Sometimes this influence of non-western instruments is at the heart of musical material used by composers. For example, in Exotica Mauricio Kagel entrusts the performers to play percussion instruments from all the continents. He deliberately wishes to create confrontation between the different universes that are inherent in different cultures. What is special with Kagel is the theatrical dimension of his music. The musicians are actors at the same time. This approach to percussion is found in his trio Dressur. Percussionist and composer Jean-Pierre Drouet, along with Georges Aperghis, also have musical theatre at heart when they use percussion, musical machines and a whole collection of objects that add to the total sound.

The range of instruments available to the percussionist includes unexpected objects: paper, water, glass, screws, cloth – all are invited into music. The composer John Cage developed an experimental approach to percussion. In Third Construction he combines the infinite possibilities of colour and rhythm in a great variety of instruments including the teponaxtle (Aztec slit drum made of wood) the quijadas (jawbone rattle) the lion roar (a basin with a small hole through which a rope is noisily pulled), and an assortment of cymbals, maracas, claves, and tam-tams, to which are added tin cans. In Living Room Music, the musicians perform the score by using objects from daily life: magazines, boxes, books, and even window frames. This experimental approach has taken flight in Canada in such contemporary music groups as Les Poules or Ensemble SuperMusique. A drum set is often taken apart into different components and numerous sound objects are mixed with voice and sampler – all in the service of music.

Beyond the instrumental variety offered by percussion, some creators return to the origins of sound by using simple hand clapping or repetitive rhythmic formulas as in Clapping Music and Drumming by Steve Reich. The continual repetition of rhythmic cells is used in a manner that creates tiny variations and rhythmic shifts. In this music, despite being anchored in a very organic pulse, the listener has the impression of being in a time beyond any common temporal references. It is reminiscent of musical practices related to trance in some non-western cultures.

Simple gestures of the hand become a source of inspiration for exploring other possibilities of percussion. The compositions of Thierry de Mey develop a completely different perspective. His work Music de tables (Table Music), has three percussionists on stage using a table and their hands as the only instruments. The position of the hands and their movements are the essence of the work. At the frontier between music and dance, silence is as important as sound. In Silent Must Be, an interactive electronic device tracks the musician’s gestures; only the musician’s own body is used to produce the sound.

Today, percussion is considered as a completely separate instrumental genre, having won its place just like traditional solo instruments. Percussion opens our ears to other ways of understanding music whether by the discovery of new sonorities inherent in percussion (new timbres, colours, variety in the “sound mass”), or by the way it occupies space on the stage or in the room, like when the musicians in Persephassa de Xenakis are dispersed around the public. In addition there is a wide diversity of percussive components available to all performers: membranophones, metals, hands, feet, voice and invented instruments – so many treasures for discovering the music of today and tomorrow.

  • Conception, recherche et rédaction: Emmanuelle Lizère
  • Développement web: DIM
  • Conception graphique: Écorce
  • © 2014, Le Vivier

Dossiers / Percussion

Évolution et transformation

On peut s’étonner que les compositeurs de musique occidentale ne se soient emparés qu’au XXe siècle de la riche palette sonore recelée par les instruments de percussion.

Deux facteurs semblent être en jeu. D’une part, ces instruments, et donc la connaissance qu’en ont eu les compositeurs, a mis du temps à traverser les frontières; c’est lors d’événements comme l’exposition universelle de 1889, par exemple, que Claude Debussy découvre le gamelan balinais. D’autre part, durant plusieurs siècles, la préoccupation des compositeurs, au sein de l’écriture musicale, fut portée davantage sur les instruments susceptibles de produire des sons à hauteurs identifiables, que sur des instruments à timbre plus complexe, moins évident à intégrer dans le système tonal.

Ainsi dans son traité d’orchestration, Hector Berlioz écrit: «les instruments de percussions sont de deux espèces: la première comprend les instruments à sons fixe et musicalement appréciable, et la seconde ceux dont le retentissement moins musical ne peut être rangé que parmi les bruits destinés à des effets spéciaux ou à la coloration du rythme». En effet, la perfection de la ligne mélodique et du traitement polyphonique a été longtemps au cœur de l’évolution du langage musical. Si l’on considère brièvement l’histoire de la musique occidentale, on peut observer que le rôle de la percussion s’y est, peu à peu, considérablement transformé. Au moyen-âge, elle marquait principalement les rythmes de danses; au XVIIe siècle, elle accompagnait les musiques solennelles, les fanfares et les manifestations de plein air. Avec Lully et les timbales, elle a pris sa place au sein de l’orchestre symphonique pour ponctuer et renforcer le discours musical. À la fin du XIXe siècle et au début du XXe, l’enrichissement du dispositif de jeu du percussionniste par des instruments comme le célesta, le glockenspiel, les tam-tams, les crotales et les xylophones, permet d‘étendre les couleurs utilisées par certains compositeurs comme Gustav Mahler, Claude Debussy ou Maurice Ravel. En 1913, Le Sacre du printemps d’Igor Stravinsky rend encore plus évidente l’importance des percussions. Quelques années plus tard, c’est Darius Milhaud qui leur accorde une place particulière, dans son œuvre Les Choéphores, dont trois sections sont écrites pour chœur, soliste et percussion avec 15 exécutants.

Stockhausen, Zyklus
Iannis Xenakis, Rebonds
Stockhausen, Mikrophonie I

En 1931, avec Ionisation, Edgard Varèse marque un tournant dans l’histoire de la musique occidentale, en composant une des premières œuvres destinée à un ensemble de percussions qui ne se réfère à aucun folklore. Il révèle la percussion comme un instrument à part entière. Les trente-sept instruments, majoritairement à intonation non déterminée, joués par treize interprètes, sont à entendre pour eux-mêmes. Leurs timbres, leurs volumes sonores, leurs grains et leurs résonances sont mis en valeur par Varèse avec une richesse et une variété extraordinaire. Au sujet de la percussion, il disait: «Il faut qu’elle parle, qu’elle ait ses propres pulsations, ses propres systèmes sanguins».

Dès lors, on voit apparaître divers concertos pour percussion et orchestre. On retiendra entre autres ceux de Darius Milhaud, André Jolivet, Henri Cowel, Jonathan Harvey et alcides lanza. Ce dernier, nommé Sensors est un concerto pour percussion soliste et ensemble de percussion et suit la forme du concerto grosso. 1968 marque la création, au Palais Garnier de Paris, de Zyklus de Karlheinz Stockhausen, une des premières pièces pour percussion solo, par Sylvio Gualda. Cet événement suscitera l’écriture de solos de percussion tels que May de Nguyen Dao et Psapha et Rebonds de Iannis Xenakis [•• Extrait ecm+ Kassandra Extrémis ••]. Des œuvres de musique de chambre en duo, trio et quatuor, se développent avec des instrumentations très variées: voix et percussion dans Kassandra de Xenakis, voix, harpe et deux percussions dans Circles de Luciano Berio, deux violoncelles et percussion dans Match de Kagel, deux ondes Martenot et percussions dans Les nuages de Magellan de Tristan Murail, deux microphones, deux filtres à potentiomètres et tam-tam dans Mikrophonie 1 de Stockhausen. Cette œuvre a la particularité de réunir plusieurs interprètes autour d’un seul grand tam-tam. Ils jouent sur différentes parties de l’instrument en le faisant vibrer par diverses attaques du son.

La composition d’œuvres pour ensemble de percussions est aussi fortement encouragée par la création d’ensembles de six percussionnistes comme Les Percussions de Strasbourg, en France, qui ont plus de 250 œuvres à leur actif, l’Ensemble de percussion McGill, à Montréal, créé à l’initiative de Pierre Béluse en 1962, ou encore le plus jeune ensemble Sixtrum. Ainsi naquirent, sous l’impulsion de l’Ensemble de percussion McGill, Les Sept jours de Walter Boudreau, Rythmologue de François Morel, Circuit 1 de Serge Garant, En mouvement de Vincent Dionne

Au sein des pièces pour ensemble instrumentaux, la percussion prend également de nouveaux visages.

«Les possibilités des instruments à percussion sont innombrables. On les appelle des faiseurs de bruits, moi je les appelle des faiseurs de sons.»
Edgard Varèse.

En effet, l’utilisation de la percussion suscite une autre manière d’écouter, de jouer et de composer la musique, plus axée sur le timbre. Le fait qu’elle soit principalement composée d’instruments à hauteurs indéterminées incite l’auditeur à moins se focaliser sur les notions de note et de rythme, et à prendre plus en considération les qualités musicales du son à travers sa texture, son grain ou sa morphologie dynamique.

Par ailleurs, la plupart du temps, le dispositif de jeu du percussionniste ne se réduit pas à un unique instrument, mais à plusieurs, voire à un grand nombre d’accessoires. Pour le musicien, leur utilisation nécessite une gestion particulière de sa gestuelle dans l’espace de jeu. Ainsi dans les Quatorze stations de Marius Constant, le percussionniste évolue au milieu d’une centaine d’instruments, tout au long d’un parcours représentant les moments clefs de la crucifixion du Christ. Cette dimension spatiale est parfois à la base même de la composition de l’œuvre. Dans Persephassa, Xenakis place les six percussionnistes en anneau autour du public. Dans cette disposition, les sons produisent des mouvements dans l’espace, qui accentuent les oppositions des masses sonores et les contrastes de textures. Philippe Leroux dans De la vitesse pour six percussionnistes, fait commencer les six musiciens sur une unique caisse claire. Puis il les éloigne peu à peu les uns des autres, formant ainsi la figure spatiale de la constellation Pégase. Cette figure s’étire progressivement, jusqu’au moment où les musiciens se trouvent, pour les uns au milieu ou derrière le public, et pour les autres dans les coulisses ou sur la scène. Cette façon de s’approprier graduellement l’espace est une autre manière d’exploiter le potentiel spatial de la percussion.

Maurizio Kagel, Exotica
Jean-Pierre Drouet, L’intrusion

La découverte d’instruments de percussion extra-occidentaux et de leur pratique entraîne certains compositeurs à s’approprier de nouvelles sonorités, modes de jeux et techniques, en les mêlant à leur propre langage musical. Pulau Dewata de Claude Vivier est un exemple de cette influence. Comme il le disait: «J’ai voulu écrire une pièce avec l’esprit de Bali: la danse, le rythme et surtout une explosion de vie simple et évidente…mais surtout pas écrire de la musique balinaise». Parfois cette influence des instruments de musique extra-occidentaux est au cœur du matériau musical utilisé par le compositeur. Ainsi, Mauricio Kagel dans Exotica confie aux instrumentistes l’utilisation de percussions appartenant à tous les continents. Sciemment, il souhaite créer une confrontation entre différents univers, inhérents à des cultures différentes. La particularité de Kagel est la dimension théâtralisée de sa musique. Les musiciens sont en même temps des acteurs. Cette approche de la percussion se retrouve également dans son trio Dressur. Jean-Pierre Drouet, percussionniste et compositeur a aussi à cœur, comme Georges Aperghis, de développer le genre théâtre musical, avec notamment l’utilisation de percussions, de machines musicales et de corps sonores hétéroclites.

La panoplie d’instruments des percussionnistes se dote d’objets sonores inattendus: papiers, eau, verre, vis, chiffon, qui s’invitent dans la musique. Le compositeur John Cage s’emploie à développer une approche expérimentale des percussions. Dans Third Construction il combine les possibilités infinies de couleurs et de rythmes d’une large variété d’instruments, parmi lesquels le teponaxtle (tambour de bois aztèque), la Quijadas (mâchoire hochet), le rugissement du lion (bassine munie d’un petit trou, à travers lequel une corde est bruyamment tirée), et un assortiment de cymbales, maracas, claves, tam-tams, auxquels s’ajoutent des boîtes de conserve. Dans Living Room Music, les musiciens interprètent la partition en utilisant des objets de la vie quotidienne: magazines, cartons, livres, ou encore châssis de fenêtre. Cette démarche expérimentale a également pris son essor au Canada, au sein d’ensembles de musique actuelle comme Les Poules ou Ensemble SuperMusique; la batterie y est souvent démontée en différents morceaux et de nombreux objets sonores se mêlent à la voix et à l’échantillonneur, au service de la musique.)

Par-delà toute la variété instrumentale offerte par la percussion, certains créateurs reviennent aux origines du son, en faisant appel à de simples frappements de mains ou à l’utilisation de formules rythmiques répétitives, comme dans Clapping Music ou Drumming de Steve Reich. La répétition quasi obstinée de cellules rythmiques est réalisée de façon à créer d’infimes variations et décalages. Dans cette musique, malgré tout ancrée dans une pulsation très organique, l’auditeur à l’impression d’être dans un temps situé hors de tout repère temporel usuel. Elle n’est pas sans évoquer des pratiques musicales liées à la transe dans certaines cultures extra-occidentales.

Thierry de Mey, Musique de tables
Thierry de Mey, Silence Must Be

De simples gestes de la main deviennent source d’inspiration pour explorer d’autres possibilités de la percussion. Le travail et les œuvres de Thierry de Mey développent ainsi une toute autre perspective. Sa pièce Musique de tables met en scène trois percussionnistes disposant d’une table et de leurs mains pour seuls instruments. Les positions des mains et leur mouvement constituent l’essence même de l’œuvre. À la frontière entre musique et danse, le silence importe autant que le son. Dans Silent Must Be, un dispositif électronique interactif est associé à la gestuelle du musicien; celui-ci n’utilise que son propre corps comme principe de production de son.

Aujourd’hui la percussion est considérée comme un instrument à part entière, ayant acquis ses lettres de noblesse, au même titre qu’un instrument soliste traditionnel. Elle ouvre nos oreilles à une autre façon d’appréhender la musique. Que ce soit par la découverte de sonorités nouvelles qui lui sont inhérentes: nouveaux timbres, grains, variété des masses sonores, par la façon dont elle occupe l’espace de la scène ou de la salle lorsque les musiciens, comme dans Persephassa de Xenakis, sont disposés autour du public, ou encore par la très grande diversité des composants du dispositif de jeu de l’instrumentiste. Bois, peaux, métaux, mains, pieds, voix et instruments inventés: autant de trésors pour faire découvrir la musique d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

  • Conception, recherche et rédaction: Emmanuelle Lizère
  • Développement web: DIM
  • Conception graphique: Écorce
  • © 2014, Le Vivier