Cultural Calendar

January 2004

 
 

Thursday, January 1

 

Friday, January 2

 

Saturday, January 3

 

Sunday, January 4

 

Monday, January 5

 

Tuesday, January 6

 

Wednesday, January 7

 

Thursday, January 8

 

Friday, January 9

 

Saturday, January 10

 

Sunday, January 11

 

Monday, January 12

 

Tuesday, January 13

 

Wednesday, January 14

 

Thursday, January 15

  • 6:00 pm
    Arion Apéro → Flauta Dolce
    The recorder, one of the most versatile of instruments, will be the guest of honour for this concert. In the capable hands of Matthias Maute and Sophie Larivière, the flauta dolce will sing with great refinement. On the menu, a programme of music ranging from the Renaissance to today, including a work composed by Matthias Maute
    Théâtre Bombardier — Musée McCord
    Arion — orchestre baroque
  • 8:30 pm
    Quatuor Bozzini: concert 2 — hiver
    Œuvres de Mackey, Snider, Bouliane
    Chapelle Saint-Louis — Église Saint-Jean-Baptiste
    Concerts M
 

Friday, January 16

  • 8:00 pm
    Art Déco
    The “Roaring Twenties.” Works by: Hindemith, Hass, Eisler, Nielsen
    Salle Marie-Stéphane — École Vincent-d’Indy — Outremont
    Pentaèdre
  • 8:00 pm
    Concert Radio-Canada
    Œuvres de Mackey, Snider, Bouliane
 

Saturday, January 17

 

Sunday, January 18

 

Monday, January 19

 

Tuesday, January 20

 

Wednesday, January 21

 

Thursday, January 22

 

Friday, January 23

  • 8:00 pm
    Carte Blanche to Dominique Visse
    Guest conductor and soloist: Dominique Visse, countertenor
    Salle Redpath — Université McGill
    Arion — orchestre baroque
 

Saturday, January 24

  • 8:00 pm
    Carte Blanche to Dominique Visse
    Salle Redpath — Université McGill
    Arion — orchestre baroque
 

Sunday, January 25

  • 2:00 pm
    Carte Blanche to Dominique Visse
    Théâtre Paul-Desmarais — Centre canadien d’architecture
    Arion — orchestre baroque
  • 4:00 pm
    7e Gala des prix Opus
    Prix d’excellence en musique de concert
    Amphithéâtre — Le Gesù
    Conseil québécois de la musique
 

Monday, January 26

 

Tuesday, January 27

 

Wednesday, January 28

  • 9:00 pm
    Books on Tape + Mixel Pixel + guests
    Performances by Books on Tape (No Type, Los Angeles) & Mixel Pixel (Mental Monkey, New York). Atmosphere by tobias c van Veen (DJ) & olo j Milkman (visuals)
    Casa del Popolo
    No Type
 

Thursday, January 29

  • 8:00 pm
    Sortis de prison
    Works by Mark Warhol and Yves Daoust. With Nadya Blanchette, soprano; Simon Fournier, barytone; Catherine Issalys, flute; Pamela Reimer, piano
    La Sala Rossa
    Ensemble Warhol
  • 8:30 pm
    Improvisation → Constantinople
    Around improvisation
    La Chapelle
    Société québécoise de recherche en musique
    La Chapelle
 

Friday, January 30

  • 8:00 pm
    Meslanges harmoniques
    Instrumental dances, fantasias, and chansons by Lejeune, Guédron, Du Caurroy, and Praetorius. 7 musicians
    Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours
    Les Boréades de Montréal
  • 8:00 pm
    Sortis de prison
    (Repeat performance of the January 29th Concert)
    La Sala Rossa
    Ensemble Warhol
  • 8:30 pm
    Improvisation → Thom Gossage Other Voices
    Music by Thom Gossage and Rainer Wiens. Thom Gossage; Rémi Bolduc; Miles Perkins; Gary Schwartz; Frank Lozano
    La Chapelle
    Société québécoise de recherche en musique
    La Chapelle
    Effendi
 

Saturday, January 31

  • 8:30 pm
    Improvisation → Steve Lacy Montréal Ensemble
    Steve Lacy; Nicolas Caloia; Jean Derome; Lori Freedman; Joe Giardullo; John Heward; Rainer Wiens; Gordon Allen
    La Chapelle
    Société québécoise de recherche en musique
    La Chapelle